Ok, so I decided to take some time to write down what’s been happening at post. I knew once I sat down at a computer my mind would draw a blank so I decided to bring my journal along to help out. It’s edited of course, not because I have scandalous secrets to conceal but because you probably don’t want to hear about my bowel movements…. Ok first posts last. (I will post more when I have time)

 

9/10/08- I had a funny thing happen to me today. I needed garlic, the word in my translation book for garlic in Bariba is sokoro. So I asked him if he could find some. He sent out a kid to go get it, the kid comes back with a giant snail. Here…. sokoro. Translation book no bueno.

9/9/08- It’s pouring rain right now which is harboring any attempt to salué. It’s about 12 o’clock and I’ve already unpacked, cooked breakfast and started the horchata. Theo is supposed to come back at 2 so we can go to the marché. I feel fine right now but I’m anxious to make friends already and to be able to communicate. I got scared for a second when I thought about how I’ll be here for two years! Life moves so slowly here! Hmm.. Ok, just think about getting through today… then a week. Then just the first three months… then time flies, right?

NIGHT- Ok I saluéd a lot. You can find a lot at the Tobré market but not a lot of veggies. People speak Bariba to me all the time. I really need to learn a little. I will. I also sat outside for a while while my neighbors cooked. I think it was a pretty eventful day. They gave me a name: Bekegui. I hope it doesn’t mean anything like poop or something.

I have a constant layer of sweat on me that never goes away. Ok, well first day not so bad. It’s hard to fill a day when you have nothing to do.