Yesterday was a shopping extravaganza. I looked everywhere for ankle-length skirts and couldn’t find them (even online!). Finally Phil and I stopped by Ross and score! long skirts far as the eye can see. I bought three good quality skirts, and only spent about 35 dollars. I heart Ross. They saved me in the Rainboot Fiasco of January 2008, and they saved me now. I’m really trying to be conscious of what I’m wearing in Benin, part of me wants to go fuck it, its going to be hot, give me spaghetti straps and some daisy dukes (not really), but then I understand the cultural differences so I am making ways.

On everything else I’m essentially starting from scratch. Before Peace Corps blogs/lists I’d never heard of chacos, or solar powered battery chargers, or surge protectors. I didnt know leatherman vs swiss army knives. I couldnt imagine a use for knife sharpeners or carrot peelers (wtf? carrots are peeled?). Breatheable fabrics in L.A. means wearing less clothes. Work clothes meant heels, a skirt, tights and a nice blouse. Now I have to find a hybrid of presentability and comfortableness. This whole process of packing and preparing for two years has been sooo stressing yet at the same time totally exciting! It’s amazing how far out of my box I’m stepping. I thought Paris was a stretch. Moving to France was stepping out of my box, moving to Africa is jumping out of my box and running out of the freakin box factory.

 

*UPDATE* I forgot to mention Las Vegas! I actually went but it was very underwhelming, it probably would have been better to go when I had just turned 21 with a bunch of girls. Instead I went a little older and wiser…but pretty much too old for that shit. 3-Foot long Margaritas…it makes me sick and not in the fun way, in the ‘this is way too much sugar’ way. And buffets aren’t as good as I remember them. I did have fun though. I love the concept of ‘free’ drinks even though I just spent about 10 bucks in 5 minutes on the slots waiting for that drink. And might I add that drunk frenchmen are just…GREAT!